Birds Recording

I’m currently visiting my parents in the countryside on a two week break (and bought my recording gear with me just in case) and after living in the city for three years, the first thing that struck me was the amount of birds singing in the morning. After not being used to it for so long, it kept waking me up, so I got up one morning at 5:00 a.m. to record some of it.

I decided to use the Zoom H2 for this, as it can record 4-channel surround audio @ 48 kHz/24-bit. Whilst I’m a big advocate at recording at higher sample rates, the surround sound option was more important to me in this scenario. There was a little bit of wind about on the morning I decided to record, so I didn’t want to take a chance on the standard windshield that was provided with the H2 recorder, so I adapted my Blimp to take the H2. This involved replacing the little rubber bands and mic clip with larger rubber bands which spanned the whole diameter of the metal rings.

The first photo shows how the H2 fit into the metal rings with the larger rubber bands. The second photo shows the fit within the Blimp:

I left the recorder going for an hour and went to bring it back in at 6:00, when most of the birds had quietened down. Here’s a sample of the recording, although it’s only a 2o second stereo file @ 44.1/16-bit:

There’s a bit of road noise in the background (The house is about a mile from the nearest motorway), which I intend to try and knock out with Izotope RX2 when I get back, but the birds have come through really clear. It almost sounds like a jungle (minus the monkey screeches!), which is mad considering it was recorded in the middle of Warwickshire.

About fredpearson
Sound Editor, Dubbing Mixer and owner of www.arrowheadaudiosfx.com

One Response to Birds Recording

  1. SLicht says:

    Nice and clean sound! ๐Ÿ™‚ But what is that low rumbling sound (When volume is turned up), does the recorder/mic produce this or is it just that record? Maybe I will get a H2 in the future and I wan’t to exclude those stuff (like rumble/hiss) before buy.

    Thank you, S.Licht ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

