Motorway Recording

After finally fitting a stereo pair of NT5s into my blimp, I decided it needed to be tested, so I drove to the local motorway bridge that runs over the M40 to record some car passes from above.

I ended up sitting on the top of the bridge with the X-Y pair pointing down towards the road, which meant that the left facing microphone was directed towards the outgoing traffic and the right facing microphone was directed towards the oncoming traffic. I left the recording running for around 45 minutes so I could get a decent amount of audio. I also managed to get some car horns as some people who drove by saw the deadcat so naturally had to cause a ruckus! Although, this worked to my advantage and gave me some interesting sounds.

Here is a short sample of the recording:

I went out to get some general driving atmos of a motorway, and although it wasn’t my intention, I ended up getting some cool sounding horns as well (unfortunately, not in the preview clip!)

About fredpearson
Sound Editor, Dubbing Mixer and owner of www.arrowheadaudiosfx.com

Leave a Reply

